Marrakech City

The name “Marrakech” refers to the Amazigh word “Amor n Akoush”, and it is pronounced by the Amazigh Amorakech, meaning the country of God or the land of God, and it denotes a universal dimension.

The name of Marrakech was called all of Morocco in the past since it was established as the capital of the Almoravids until the era of the French occupation in the modern era, and this name is still used in all languages, such as Persian (Marrakesh), Spanish (Marruecos) and English (Morocco).

Historical sources say that the construction of Marrakesh was in the year 1070 by a group of Berber tribes who came from the desert and chose its location because of its proximity to the Lamtuna and the mountains of Masmuda.

It is described as the red city, as most of its buildings are painted red, and it becomes more beautiful and bright as the sunset lights reflect on their buildings.

Marrakech is also known as the “city of seven men”, and researchers attribute this to a group of leading scholars and Sufis who lived in the city and played a major role in spreading political, intellectual and educational awareness among its residents, and they are respectively: Yusef bin Ali Al-Sunhaji, Ayadh bin Musa Al-Ahsabi, and Abu Al-Abbas Al-Sabti, Muhammad Bin Sulaiman Al-Jazouli, Abdul Aziz Al-Tabaa, Muhammad Bin Ajal Al-Ghazwani, and Abdul Rahman Al-Dhir.

The city witnessed a great urban and organizational prosperity during the reign of Sultan Yusuf bin Tashfin (1061-1107) and became the capital and political and cultural center of the Almoravid state and the entire Islamic West.